Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

NBA Finals Winners, Boston Celtics

The Boston Celtics currently have won 17 NBA Championships, which is tied with the Los Angeles Lakers for the most in NBA history. The Celtics are one of the most celebrated franchises in sports. Learn more about the Boston Celtics below.

Red & 13 Rings

The Celtics were founded in 1946. The team was struggling until they hired Red Auerbach in 1950. Auerbach was an expert motivator and would eventually serve the Celtics as general manager and president.

The Celtics originally played in Boston Garden. The Boston Garden was known for its iconic parquet court. In 1995, the Celtics would move to the TD Garden.

From 1957 to 1976 the Celtics would win an astounding 13 championships. The roster for Boston in this era was stacked from top to bottom. Frank Ramsey, Ed Macauley, Bill Sharman, Bob Cousy, Tom Heinsohn, Sam Jones, K.C. Jones, John Havlicek, and Bill Russell all suited up for the Green and White squad from Boston.

celtics Red Auerbach

5 Time MVP

Bill Russell was the leader of the Celtics in his era. Russell would win 5 MVP Awards and he was a defensive genius who could dominate the game without scoring a point. He was the ultimate teammate. Russell was also an activist and his place in NBA history is singular.

celtics Bill Russell

Larry Legend

The Celtics would continue to be relevant throughout the 1970s. When the Celtics drafted Larry Bird in the late 70s, they would ensure that the 80s were a successful decade for the franchise. Larry Bird played 13 seasons in the NBA, all for the Boston Celtics. He is one of the deadliest shooters, and one of the most clutch players, the game has known. Bird and his teammates, including Kevin McHale, Robert Parish, and Dennis Johnson, would win three championships in the 1980s.

celtics larry bird

The Big 3

The 1990s were a down period for the Celtics organization. This was the first prolonged drought in Celtics history when it came to championships and playoff success. It was not until the 2007-2008 season that the Celtics would return to Championship form. The Celtics already had perennial All-Star Paul Pierce on their roster when they made a series of moves that instantly turned them into contenders. Boston would acquire NBA stars Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen. Fittingly, the Celtics would face the Los Angeles Lakers in the 2008 Finals. The Celtics would best their West Coast rivals in the series and bring home the Championship Trophy. The Celtics would face the Lakers again in the finals in 2010. But this time the Lakers would defeat the Boston club in 7 games.

celtics big 3

Boston Today

After The Big 3 era the Celtics would remain relevant, but were not able to achieve the ultimate goal, a title. Jayson Tatum was taken in the first round of the 2017 NBA Draft. He would lead the Celtics to contention in his rookie season when he led the Celtics to the Finals in 2018. Tatum, along with fellow young star, Jaylen Brown, are the future of the Boston Celtics.


- Adam C. Better